You should know

9:37 p.m.

Here are five fast things you should know about me:

1. I’m a pen snob. Two words: Extra. Fine. I pity the fool who offers me a Bic pen.

2. Speaking of Mr. T, you should know I had a crush on him when I was six.

(Does anyone else miss the ‘80s?)

I remember having a serious discussion with my older brother about Mr. T that went something like this:

Me: “Do you think Mr. T is really that tough?”

Bro: “Mr. T is so tough even his mom doesn’t know his real name.”

Me: “Whoa.”

That conversation really happened.

3. I sometimes read books backward or start in the middle. I then try to piece together what happened. You should try it. It’s fun.

4. I can be unnecessarily competitive. In grade school, we had reading comprehension tests.

I never read the content. (See #3) I went straight to the questions and tried to find the answer by skimming the copy. I didn’t care about being right; I cared about being first.

That was a winning academic approach, I assure you. (“Kate, state schools aren’t for everyone. Maybe you should think about a vo tech.”)

5. Dumb rules drive me nuts. I’m not an anarchist. And, I have no problem with authority. But I do have a problem with dumb rules.

I mean, why is it illegal in football to fake out your opponent? It’s legal in every other major sport – soccer, baseball, volleyball, etc. But in football, it’s a false start. Dumb rule.

That is all.

9:56 p.m.

Leave a Reply

