The cool aunt

gigi-note9 p.m.

I’ve been called a lot of things. A lot.

But the name that means the most is Aunt Kate.

I love being an aunt. Love it. It’s all perks, no problems.

I’m not the cool aunt, though. That’s my sister.

I’m the accountable aunt (read: bossy) who won’t buy my nieces anything pink or with a princess on it.

Admittedly, I can get a little crazy with the gender stuff.

If we play “school” I insist my niece be the principal and someone else be the teacher.

A few Christmases ago, I bought my youngest niece, who was then five, a work bench with tools and a cash register so she could play “business” instead of “house.”

A work bench and a cash register. It’s on every girl’s Christmas list, right?

This year, I gave that same niece, who’s now nine, three books.

One book is about a girl architect. The second is about Abigail Adams. And, the third book is called, “So you want to be president.” It gives kids interesting facts about our nation’s leaders.

I told you: I’m not the cool aunt.

Now, some people (my husband) don’t think I have a heart. But, I do. And, today it melted when we received a handwritten note from my niece.

It was written in pencil. (They still make those?)

And, she thanked us for the books. She said her favorite was the one about the presidents.

But, the best part?

She signed it, “Present (president) Grace.”

Next year we’ll get her the spelling book.

There’s no moral to this story. There’s no “so what?” to this blog. I just love knowing a seed was planted.

9:17 p.m.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

