Best dressed

1:57 p.m.

The fashion world has been in the news a lot lately with New York, London and Paris Fashion Weeks, as well as the recent Oscars.

But there’s something important missing from the media coverage: freelancer fashion.

Yes, it’s a thing. And just like the real fashion world, anything goes.

Do you know why yoga pants took off? Do you know why there’s even a yoga pant industry?

No, not because of yogis.

My statistically valid research (two friends) shows freelancers are the reason for the yoga pant explosion. As a rule, freelancers live in black yoga pants. And most of us don’t really do downward dog, tree pose or even stretch on a regular basis.

I kinda feel like you owe me, lululemon.

That brings me to the next fashion fad freelancers embrace – vintage clothing. My own work-from-home wardrobe consists of a rotation of sweatshirts and hoodies that stem from an undergrad program that may have wrapped in the late 1990s.

There’s no shame.

Then there’s the last – and most critical piece of freelancer fashion: accessories. Or accessory – because there’s really only one you need to know about: the blanket.

Or as I call it, the freelancer pashmina.

In the spirit of transparency, you should know my pashmina isn’t really a blanket. It’s a Snuggie playing the role of a blanket. It’s covered in little Mizzou logos and warms me up when fullsizerender-6my black yoga pants and vintage sweatshirts just don’t cut it.

I think it was Coco Chanel who said you should always take off one accessory before leaving the house. But she’s wrong. In this case anyway. My Snuggie pulls all my work-from-home outfits together.

Anything goes in freelancer fashion but not everyone has the vision.

I see it in my hubby’s eyes when he comes home at night. He stares at me unsure if he should celebrate my “unique” style or if today is the day to gather friends and family, and
make that call to A&E’s Intervention so we can have the talk.

My hubby calls me a haute mess. I see myself as haute stuff.

3:15 p.m.

Leave a Reply

